The 'red thread' in my design work is the focus on the human being: all design solutions are conceived with the user and consumer in mind. For me it's not relevant to develop my own design language, but to create one that fits to the company I work with. That's why I support them to shape their vision, in order to foster their authenticity and make them more relevant for the consumer. Only this way they become and remain successful.

  • Philips Medical Systems BV 300

    Product- und UI-Design, 1994

    For Philips medical systems the challenge lie in the development of an coherent and distinctive design language which could connect all the various products into one family. The limitations of the available materials and production techniques led to a form language called soft-geometry, which became a large success.
  • Philips Medical Systems L‘ARC

    Product- und UI-Design, 1995

    The design solution was able to focus the development towards patient comfort: This had a positive effect on the examination time, which decreased, and resulted into a higher turn-over for radiologists - a win-win for all involved.
  • Philips Medical Systems

    Product- und UI-Design, 1995

    The design of complex interaction and control desks, require a thorough understanding and involvement into the procedures of examinations.
  • Philips Medical Systems CT X-Ray

    Product Design, 1995-98

    The challenge in designing mobile medical equipment lies on the one hand in creating clear and agile product proportions, but on the other to convey stability and tranquility: also here patients are often intimidated by the look of the equipment.
  • Philips Lighting

    Concept design, 1994

    During many workshops for Philips Lighting I participated in concept development for lighting fixtures. Here the light source was placed at the bottom of the light column to improve serviceability. The beam was transported upwards by a special foil.
  • Philips Consumer Electronics VR 800

    Product design, Design management, 1998

    To sustain in the tough battle with far-east competition, this product category required, next to technological leadership, also a differentiating but still category winning design language. The more humane and soft language eventually led to what is now intrinsic to Philips.
  • Philips Consumer Lifestyle

    Design strategy, Design management, 2009

    In this product segment the challenge lies in achieving a market positioning through aiming a design language to a specific target consumer - fighting against the category codes but remaining relevant. Using brand-personas, it was easier to convince the sales force that this is possible: they could connect with a real consumer insight.
  • Philips Consumer Electronics Prestigo

    Product design, 2007

    Products mainly used in the living environment, require an intuitive interaction and fitting ergonomics. Meeting these requirements within the restriction of product cost and distribution is the real challenge.
  • Payer Shavers

    Product design, Design management, 2001

    For Payer Shavers the challenge lied in creating product with a personality, which could still be adapted to the requirements of various OEM customers and markets, through the changes in color and specs.
  • apc Public Access Terminal

    Product- und UI-Design, Design management, 1999-2002

    The development of a voice-enabled public access terminal requires extensive usability research, combined with vandalism-proof design solutions.
  • Deutsche Telekom Prozessgestaltung

    Designmanagement, 2009

    In order to embed the design function into the larger organization, and to steer the design activities as such, design processes were developed and communicated.
  • Deutsche Telekom Markenpersona

    Designmanagement, 2010

    Based on the Brand Promise, target consumers were conceived, in order to focus the design and innovation activities.

Design ist das Resultat unternehmerischen Handels, das, was am Ende dem Kunden als Erlebnis vermittelt wird. Design im Unternehmen ist nicht nur die Arbeit von Gestaltern oder spezialisierten Lieferanten, sondern eine Haltung, die allen Mitarbeitern eigen sein soll, will das Erlebnis beim Kunden einen positiven und nachhaltigen Effekt haben.

  • Philips Medical Systems BV 300

    Produkt- und UI-Design, 1994

    Für Philips Medizinische Systeme galt es die verschiedene Produkte im Rahmen einer CI-Gestaltung anzugleichen und eine gemeinsame, neue Formensprache zu entwickeln. Die verwendeten Materialien und Fertigungstechnologien beeinflussten diese Sprache, die als ,soft-geometry‘ großen Anklang fand.
  • Philips Medical Systems L‘ARC

    Produkt- und UI-Design, 1995

    Die Designarbeit lenkte bei der Entwicklung der Geräte die Fokussierung auf den Patientenkomfort, was zur Verbesserung der Verweildauer im System und dadurch auch zu erhöhtem Umsatz der Radiologen führte - ein Win-win für alle Beteiligten.
  • Philips Medical Systems

    Produkt- und UI-Design, 1995

    Bei der Gestaltung von Nutzeroberflächen in der Medizintechnik galt es vor allem, den Workflow der Nutzer zu unterstützen. Ein grosses Problem dabei war immer die ‚interne Denke‘ der Entwickler, die ihre Organisationsstruktur in UI’s überführten.
  • Philips Medical Systems CT X-Ray

    Product Design, 1995-98

    Die Herausforderung bei der Gestaltung von mobilen Röntgen-Geräten lag sowohl in der klaren Gliederung, als auch in der Vermittlung von Stabilität und Ruhe - denn auch hier sind Patienten oft von den Geräten eingeschüchtert.
  • Philips Lighting

    Concept design, 1994

    Für Philips Licht erstanden in vielen Workshops Konzepte für neue Lichtarmaturen. Hier wurde die Lichtquelle wartungsfreundlich unten im Mast angebracht und über eine Leitfolie zum Reflektor geleitet.
  • Philips Consumer Electronics VR 800

    Produktdesign, Designmanagement, 1998

    Für Philips Consumer Electronics (CE) musste, im Konkurrenzkampf mit Fernost, neben einer technologischen Führerschaft vor allem eine eigenständige Formensprache etabliert werden. Auch hier wurde eine weichere, menschlichere Sprache Vorläufer für spätere Entwicklungen.
  • Philips Consumer Lifestyle

    Designstrategie, Designmanagement, 2009

    Die Herausforderung in diesem Segment liegt darin, die Markenpositionierung über eine adäquate Formensprache auf ein Zielpublikum auszurichten. Mit der Entwicklung von Brand-Personas wurde die Ausrichtung der Produktentwicklung und der Designsprache vereinfacht.
  • Philips Consumer Electronics Prestigo

    Produktdesign, 2007

    Eine große Herausforderung in der Designarbeit für Konsumentenelektronik ist die Gestaltung der Nutzeroberflächen: Die überwiegend im Wohnraum genutzten Geräte verlangen eine intuitive Bedienung und passende Ergonomie.
  • Payer Shavers

    Produktdesign, Designmanagement, 2001

    Für Payer Shaver galt es eigenständige Produkte zu kreieren, die sich aber für verschiedene OEM-Kunden, durch Farb- und Spezifikationsänderungen auf die jeweiligen Markenanforderungen hin, konfigurieren liessen.
  • apc Public Access Terminal

    Produkt- und UI-Design, Designmanagement, 1999-2002

    Die Entwicklung des sprachgesteuerten Access Terminals erforderte ausführliche Usability-Untersuchungen. Im Rahmen einer Ausgliederung von Philips entstand auch die CI für apc interactive.
  • Deutsche Telekom Prozessgestaltung

    Designmanagement, 2009

    Für die Deutsche Telekom galt es die Designarbeit prozessual in den Konzern einzubinden, als auch die eigene Designarbeit zu lenken.
  • Deutsche Telekom Markenpersona

    Designmanagement, 2010

    Basierend auf das Markenversprechen der Telekom, wurde mittels „Persona“ ein Zielkundenprofil entwickelt, um die Designarbeit zu fokussieren.