Jan-Erik's currently heads the BA program in Design Management, at the Lucerne University of applied sciences in Switzerland. He teaches in design management and is responsible for managing and further developing of the curriculum. He also is an independent consultant and advices organizations on design- and change management challenges.

connect on LinkedIn
To me Design is a deliberate intervention to improve the existing for the better. I am convinced that it’s the task of Design is to question the cultural relevance and the impact of whatever brands and industries produce and sell on society and ecology, and in this put the human center stage. Only this way sustainable value can be created: for customers, organizations and society at large.

1964
Birth in Elkins, West Virginia, USA: yes, I do have an US passport, no I‘m not a hillbilly.


1967
Move to the Netherlands, the homeland of my parents (mother teacher and artist, father scientist and astronomer) - that‘s why I‘m Dutch most of all! In Dwingeloo, a small village in the province of Drenthe, I attended the primary school.

1975
Relocation to Germany, close to Bonn, then the capital. Was thrown into the college right away, which initially made me being lost. First major work on comic strips, which unfortunately never were finished... but the sketching and designing entered my life.

1985
Graduation (Abitur) in Rheinbach. Subsequently I started to study industrial design in Wuppertal with Professor Klose and Reif (all done without computers).

1986
Promotion into the A-ranks of cycling (highest amateur level), my true passion. 1987 I quitted the competition because of my studies and ever since I just cycle for fun, well…

1990
Entering the real design world: initially as a trainee in the design department at Philips on products like lamps and fixtures, which meant I returned to the Netherlands, to Eindhoven.

1991
Graduation in Wuppertal with a thesis on a mobile office device with a touch screen (is called iPad today). After that I just stayed with Philips and started as a designer for medical equipment.

1995
Together with my colleague and friend Jan-Paul we won the Rotterdam Design Award - this to the surprise of many, including our bosses!

for more projects visit my portfolio >

1996
Relocation to Vienna, Austria, which over the years became my favorite town. As a designer for consumer electronics I was occupied with TV sets, video recorders and other products, which were produced by the millions, quite a radical change from where I came from...

1998
Became in charge of the branch in Vienna and thus entered the ‘management world’. Headed a team of roundabout 15 professionals in various fields. First lecturing assignment in Graz at the Joaneum, were I discovered my passion for lecturing.

2000
Keynote Speaker at the Alpbach Technology Forum on the topic of ,The Science of Beauty‘: till now the highlight of my academic career.

more speeches on Slideshare >

2003
After the closure of the branch, which resulted out of the restructuring of the activities to fare east, I went back to Eindhoven, again. Privately we relocated to Kempen in Germany, between the border and Düsseldorf. At the head quarters I headed a global design team for consumer electronics.

2004
Started lecturing in Essen at the University for industrial design, subsequently as visiting professor on brand design.

2007
As the CDO (Chief Design Officer) I became part of the management team of the business, which moved design closer and finally ‘at the decision table’. I ran a team of more than 50 professionals distributed around the globe in Amsterdam, Hong Kong, Paris and New York, which meant I did spent a lot of time inside planes.

2009
I moved to the Deutsche Telekom as Head of Design Management, in Bonn - almost a full circle, but just… Despite the best intentions the assignment is not what I was looking for, so it came to a premature ending.

2011
Entered into self employment and joined VanBerlo Strategy & Design as an associate partner, again in Eindhoven... Started to consult organizations in strategic design management and design thinking.

2011
Also took up a professorship at the University of Design and Art in Lucerne, Switzerland, where I now head the Bachelor Design Management.

2010
Started the design blog ‘designfokus’ with monthly columns on topics like design management and design thinking.

visit the Blog designfokus >

Let's get connected!

Zur Zeit leitet Jan-Erik Baars den Bachelor-Studiengang Design Management - International, an der Hochschule Luzern, Schweiz. Hier doziert er zum Thema Designmanagement und ist für die Gestaltung und Weiterentwicklung des Curriculums verantwortlich. Zusätzlich ist er selbständiger Designmanager und berät Unternehmen in Design- und Change-Management.

auf LinkedIn vernetzen
Für mich ist Design ist ein bewusstes Eingreifen mit dem Ziel zu verbessern. Es ist meine Überzeugung, dass Design die Aufgabe hat, die kulturelle Relevanz und den Einfluss auf Gesellschaft und Umwelt, in dem was Produzenten und Marken herstellen und vertreiben, zu hinterfragen und all dies auf den Menschen aus zu richten.  Nur so kreiert Design einen nachhaltigen Mehrwert für Kunden, Konsumenten und die Gesellschaft, als auch für Unternehmen.

1964
Geburt in Elkins, West Virginia, USA:
seit dem habe ich die US-Nationalität.


1967
Übersiedlung in die Niederlande, die Heimat meiner Eltern (Mutter Lehre-
rin und Malerin, Vater Physiker und Radio-Astronom) - daher bin ich vor allem Niederländer! In Drenthe, im Norden der Niederlande, besuchte ich in Dwingeloo die Grundschule.

1975
Übersiedlung nach Deutschland, in die Nähe von Bonn. Gleich ins Gymnasium, wo ich zuerst ein wenig verloren war. Erste umfangreiche Arbeiten an vielen Comic-Geschichten, die leider nie fertig wurden... aber das Gestalten und Zeichnen hatte mich in seinen Bann gezogen.

1985
Abitur in Rheinbach, NRW. Anschließend Studium des Industrie Designs in Wuppertal bei Prof. Klose und Reif (ganz ohne Computer).

1986
Aufstieg in die A-Klasse des Radrennsports, meiner eigentlichen Passion. 1987 beendete ich meine Radsport-Karriere wegen des Studiums und radle seitdem nur zum Spaß.

1990
Mein Einstieg in die wirkliche Designwelt, zuerst als Praktikant in der Designabteilung bei Philips zum Thema Leuchten und zugleich Rückkehr in die Niederlande, nach Eindhoven.

1991
Diplom in Wuppertal mit einer Arbeit zum ,mobilen Büro‘ (nennt sich heute iPad). Danach gleich weiter bei Philips als Produkt-Designer für medizinische Geräte.

1995
Zusammen mit meinem Kollegen Jan-Paul gewinne ich den Rotterdam Design Preis, zur Überraschung Vieler und vor allem der uneserer Chefs!

mehr Projekte in meinem Portfolio >

1996
Übersiedlung nach Wien, die über die Jahre zu meiner Lieblingsstadt wurde, als Designer für die Philips Konsumentenelektronik. Ich entwerfe TV und Video-Geräte in millionenfacher Auflage, ein radikaler Wechsel von dem, was ich bisher machte.

1998
Wechsel in die Leitung der Niederlassung von Philips in Wien und somit Eintritt ins ,Management‘. Leitung eines Teams von 15 Gestaltern verschiedener Gebiete für unterschiedliche Produktgattungen, wie Haushaltsgeräte , Multi-media und Unterhaltungselektronik.

2000
Keynote Speaker am Alpbacher Technologie Forum zum Thema
,The Sience of Beauty‘, was bis jetzt für mich ein Highlight in meiner ,akademischen‘ Karriere ist.

mehr Präsentationen auf Slideshare >

2003
Nach der Schließung der Niederlassung in Wien, auf Grund der Verlagerung der Entwicklungs-Aktivitäten von Philips nach Fernost, zurück nach Eindhoven. Privat Übersiedlung nach Kempen an den Niederrhein. Im ,Head Quarter‘ Leiter eines Designteams für die Konsumentenelektronik.

2004
Lehrauftrag an der Universität Essen für Industrie Design. In Folge dann Gastprofessur für Markendesign, bis 2009.

2007
Als Chief Design Officer erstmalig Teil des Management Teams des Business und somit auch aktiv in der Aufwertung der Designarbeit innerhalb des Konzerns. Leite ein Team von etwa 50 Designern in Niederlassungen rund um den Globus (Amsterdam, HongKong, Paris, New York) sodass ich viel im Flieger sitze.

2009
Wechsel zur Deutschen Telekom als Head of Design Management, in Bonn. Trotz bester Vorhaben ist es nicht das, was ich suchte und daher gibt es Ende 2010 ein vorzeitiges Ende.

2011
Beginn der Professur an der Hochschule für Design & Kunst in Luzern, Schweiz, wo ich den Bachelor Studiengang Design Management leite.

2011
Start in die Selbstständigkeit und Anschluss an VanBerlo Strategy & Design, wieder in Eindhoven, als Associate Partner. Zudem berate ich Unternehmen in Fragen des Design Thinking und strategischen Design Managements.

2010
Start des Designblogs ,designfokus‘ mit regelmäßigen Kolumnen zum Thema Designmanagement und Design Thinking.

zum Blog designfokus >

Let's get connected!